MyBlog

01/31/2012

Musicians and Computers

Filed under: Uncategorized — conner36 @ 10:35

I was thinking about the adage that people that are good at math and playing musical instruments are well suited to learning computer science. I was wondering why this could be. After reading Code Complete I think I have an interesting point of view.
In Code Complete it made an emphasis that good code comes from abstracting smaller parts to make the sum of those parts greater than the whole. In my experience with piano I have come across the similar phenomena. In order to play an advanced piece you must take past learning experiences and build off them to be able to play. It’s impossible to try and contemplate every note, you instead focus on playing a passage. You practice until that passage becomes a part of you and has become an abstracted part of the “musical puzzle”.
I believe it is that task of abstracting that makes musicians so apt to learning computer science. So you don’t have to be a musician to be a great coder, but if you’re a great coder music can be a great hobby conducive to helping you expand your abstracting abilities. As a friend of mine observed that after a few years of playing piano, my chess skill magically improved. Music can help in sometimes unexpected ways.
It’s a shame it’s not a requirement of elementary schools…

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.